Week 11

Mudita Sisodia
2 min readJun 15, 2021

After I had that little crisis last week about how these weeknotes aren’t actually helping me get better at writing, I decided to experiment with more of a newsletter-ish format where the meat of the article is a single topic that is followed by short life updates.

This, however, paralyzed me because I couldn’t really think of anything worth writing about. Or so I believed. My hobbies and interests suddenly seemed frivolous. I mean, who would want to read my journey from being a nail-art-hater to having a Pinterest board of all the nail-art I want to try out, or the crystal file I just bought that turned out to be a gamechanger, or how excited I am about the three new shades I’ve just ordered because I’ve never tried colours as light as those? Would anyone really want to read about how much joy watching Vincenzo gave me because firstly, I finally found a drama that my father and I can watch and enjoy together, and secondly, it’s so refreshing to see the protagonist not be the underdog and actually always be three steps ahead of the villain? I don’t care about how unrealistic and cheesy it is, it’s just immensely satisfying.

These are the kind of things I think about and I hope someday I write about them. I’m very aware of how this idea of them being “frivolous” is coloured by the fact that they’re interests that women mostly have. I’m always excited to have these conversations with close friends but talking about them publicly, at some level makes me worry about being written off as someone who can’t be taken seriously, which is the stupidest thing ever!

Anyhoo, here are some life updates —

  • I’m still struggling to get back to working out regularly. For a change, I’ve decided to try out pilates, for which I’m following Move With Nicole. Pilates is surprisingly difficult! Those slow and controlled movements absolutely murder my muscles.
  • On the portfolio front, after grappling for a week with GatsbyJS, I woke up to this tweet on a Sunday and took it as a sign to drop the effort and move to Webflow. Greatest move ever. Screw you sunk cost fallacy (shout out to Floyd for responding to my “hey what’s that word for when you…”). Anyway, I’m in love with Webflow now. Also, v1 of my portfolio is ready here check it out if you’d like.
  • I listened to Lifafa’s Jaago with my father and he loved it.

--

--

Mudita Sisodia

I like design, art, tech (in that order), and write weeknotes.